Here comes Thot!

Magic was what first drew me towards esoterism, and the Moon probably was the One who first drew me towards paganism, so when I think about it,  it’s somewhat surprising that I hadn’t met Thot earlier on my path.

djehuty_by_hypernosis-d38z3ka  master_of_law_by_gpalmer-d9ka8in

Thot: God of the Moon and of Magic, of Widsom and Intelligence, and of Writing (among other things…)
But the point of the fact is: I hadn’t. And not only that but I confess I had never given much thought about Him either.

A few weeks ago, as I was visiting Isis in meditation, She introduced me to Him, said He could help me with writing this blog, and also with my scheduling issues as I rarely  have (find, make…) the time for the things I want and have a dreadful tendency to postpone everything, including urgent matters!

For those unfamiliar with the myth: when the Sky Goddess Nut was pregnant with the Earth God Geb’s offsprings, Ra was so furious against Her that He forbade Her to give birth on any day of the year but Thot came to Her assistance. At this time, the Egyptian year lasted only 360 days. The cunning Thot asked the Moon to play with Him, waging minutes of Moonlight. The game lasted quite a while and at the end, Thot had gained enough light to create 5 more days!
These “new” days, which the Egyptiians called epagomenal days, weren’t part of any year and thus Nut was able to deliver Her 5 children: Osiris, Horus the Elder, Seth , Isis and Nephtys.

So taking minutes here and minutes there in order to “make” the time for the things you really need seems indeed to be something you can definitely call upon Thot to assist you with.

I haven’t worked with Him on my timing yet, but He’s already been most helpful with my writing (this blog and other things), so I wanted to make this post as a humble tribute to this new God of my pantheon, Who didn’t even request a place on my altar or in my worshipping practice and just told me that when I wear a piece of jewellery with a moon (I have quite a few that fit this description!…), I could think about Him and call Him.

All Hail Thot! For this world would probably be a much better place if more people were praying to a God of Wisdom!

Enregistrer

About Natacha BoginskY

I'm a French solitary practising pagan, for whom the term "headblind" quite fits. For my living, I teach English as a foreign language in a Junior High School. / Je suis une païenne pratiquant en solo, à qui le terme "headblind" (créé pour désigner des personnes n'ayant pas d'abilité ou de grande sensibilité psychique) correspond plutôt bien. Côté travail, je suis prof d'anglais dans un collège.
This entry was posted in English, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

