Taking on responsibilities as… priestess in training !

Selkis prayerI said I’d talk about “taking on some spiritual responsibilities”… And this post is the beginning of one of them.

Certainly not the most widely worshipped Egyptian Goddess today, Selkis is yet very powerful and I’m here to try and get Her some more attention.
This isn’t a random choice either and it’s not in my present intentions to do the same for each and every one of the Gods in my pantheon!

I feel I must also warn you that I’m not a reconstructionist and I don’t follow a khemetic path. My path is very much my own and I was about to say “of my own making” but it’d probably be more accurate to say of “Their” own making as I wasn’t exactly the one to go looking for most of what came my direction.

After silently walking by my side for years, Selkis has sought my full attention a few months back and has since risen to being one of the three top Deities in my personal pantheon.
She’s asked me to serve Her as a priestess and though I wasn’t really clear on what She’d expect by that (here in France, we don’t really have pagan communities or covens the way you do in the US…), as I’m a solitary practitioner living in a small village, it was pretty obvious that She didn’t mean “priestess” as a public officiant.

However, one “public” thing She did ask of me was to create an online platform that would give Her more visibility. I could’ve done it in English only but not every French pagan is fluent in English and I wanted to make sure that what I’d do for Her would also be accessible to my fellow francophones. Which brought me back on this blog! 🙂

I’m creating a “Selkis” category on the blog (which will appear in both the submenus of “English” and “Français”), where I’ll put informations about Her and Her myths, Her connection to Isis, and Her relevance today. Because I think that sometimes, discovering how someone established contact with a Deity can actually turn out to be useful for others, I’ll also share the story of how my relationship with Her started and how it is now ; what else I might write and share, I don’t know yet but I’m confident She’ll let me know if She desires me to add anything! ^_^

The prayer above is of my own writing, feel free to use it if it appeals to you or to make appropriate adjustments suitable to your needs 😉

~ Natacha BoginskY, July 27th, 2016

p.s: I’m also thinking of adding the same type of content in my Goddess Isis section either when I’ll be done with this one, or possibly even before!

Enregistrer

Enregistrer

Enregistrer

About Natacha BoginskY

I'm a French solitary practising pagan, for whom the term "headblind" quite fits. For my living, I teach English as a foreign language in a Junior High School. / Je suis une païenne pratiquant en solo, à qui le terme "headblind" (créé pour désigner des personnes n'ayant pas d'abilité ou de grande sensibilité psychique) correspond plutôt bien. Côté travail, je suis prof d'anglais dans un collège.
This entry was posted in English, Priestess in training, Selkis, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

