In response to “Votum Solvit”

In response to Votum Solvit  http://bansheearts.com/2012/12/votum-solvit/

I am here to tell you that you CAN, and you SHOULD, negotiate with the Morrigan. (…)if She wants something from you, She’ll have it one way or another. That’s exactly why you MUST negotiate for terms that are safe for you and support your needs.

(…)The word [devotion] derives from ‘votum‘, a vow. Devotion, both as term and as concept, traces its origin to this ancient understanding of reciprocity, the exchange of offerings, acts of kinship that established the bonds of loyalty and mutual support between humans and Gods. We have always made deals with the Gods. Do not be afraid to state your terms.

I know this article was written with the Morrigan as principal focus but the author several times spoke of negotiating with “the Gods” not just with Her. The article made so much sense that though I do not work myself with the Morrigan, I actually considered the idea for a few moments to see if it matched my experience and would be a sound advice to incorporate into my own practice. It didn’t.  To me devotion is not just the making of a vow, it’s an act of love. I do see the relevance of the concept of Sovereignty here… after all, Isis is a Queen too but I’m not one to put a price on my love.

I mean, I wouldn’t even think of doing it with my husband or my best friend because honestly saying something like “You can count on me but only if in return I can count on you for this and that” strikes me as being quite rude. So clearly I’m not gonna do it with my Goddess!

I do believe that reciprocity is important in any relationship but I also believe that it works better when the trust is implicit and the acts are made willingly rather than by contractual obligation.

I don’t only offer my love unto Isis, I put my trust in Her hands. I get that working with different deities requires different ways, and thus having no experience of the Morrigan, I won’t challenge the opinion of this blog’s author regarding Her, just for the sake of argument.  I just wanted to give my two cents, stressing that though negotiations with the Gods might be good, necessary or preferable in some cases, I don’t think it should be given as a ready-to-use advice for all situations and all Gods or Goddesses. The “right thing to do” will depend mostly on your own personality and the type of relationship that you seek to foster with Them.

~ Natacha BoginskY, April 2nd, 2013.

About Natacha BoginskY

I'm a French solitary practising pagan, for whom the term "headblind" quite fits. For my living, I teach English as a foreign language in a Junior High School. / Je suis une païenne pratiquant en solo, à qui le terme "headblind" (créé pour désigner des personnes n'ayant pas d'abilité ou de grande sensibilité psychique) correspond plutôt bien. Côté travail, je suis prof d'anglais dans un collège.
This entry was posted in English, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

